The Lakes ACB – 13 OCT

Lake District Adventure Cannonball

Sunday 13th October

Starting from the Filling Station Café in Keswick:
Address: Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PR (just off the A66)
Grid Reference: NY 264 242
Coordinates: 54° 36 28  N    3° 8 25  W

Route length: approximately 150 km (90 miles)
Minimum fuel range: 100 km (60 miles)

The Lake District Adventure Cannonball differs from other events in that it contains a lot
more tarmac than usual… but what tarmac!
As many of the unsealed trails in the Lakes would be unsuitable for big bikes on road tyres
the route instead takes in the many spectacular tarmac routes in the National Park. Starting
from the Filling Station Café in Keswick, the journey starts by passing through the town and
up past the Castlerigg Stone Circle, then across into the Vale of St John, here the first
unsurfaced section is encountered, only short but quite challenging.
As the Lakes are characterised by the fact that there are not many alternatives to choose
from on the roads being restricted by the Lakes and Mountains, we wouldn’t want to give too
much of the route away but needless to say it does feature a few mountain passes on the
So spectacular views, twisty, steep tarmac including a 33% (1 in 3) descent! Not to mention
the chance to practice your sheep avoidance techniques! The trails that are included vary

from some short easy routes in the valleys to long, remote and high level trails with
spectacular views, so don’t forget your camera!
Some well known passes are included but also a few smaller and lesser known ones too,
fuel range is not an issue as although filling stations are not exactly plentiful, the route
manages to find enough on the way to achieve a 100km/60 mile minimum fuel range and be
assured there are plenty of country pubs, cafes and tea shops on the route to keep riders
refueled too.

[form form-59]

First Name Last Name
Mark Allton
John Reynolds
Richard Perrotton
Steff McGarrigle
Simon McGarrigle
Russ Ford
Daniel Marshall
Mark Stride
Russ Ford
Paul Hoad
Richard Perrotton
Dan Preece
Robin Harwood
Andy Esmond
John Thompson